This is my first mug ever that was solely mine. There had been other mugs that my mother had from her past and other mugs she had received as gifts that we used as a family, but I never had one that was mine alone.

It was given to me by my best friend in third grade. We are no longer best friends and I hadn’t used it at all during our friendship which might be weird, but to me I never wanted to mess it up. My grandmother came to visit one summer and reach into the back of the cabinet where I kept it and used it. I was very upset that she was the first one to use that mug. I realized later that there wasn’t any magic in the mug and that it didn’t matter who used it first.

I’ve had the mug for thirteen years, it’s quite stained now, but it’s still going strong.

IMG_0081.JPG

